City of London Freemen’s Main House

The iconic 18th Century school was founded in Brixton in 1854 funded by the Corporation of London. It was originally set out to care for orphaned children and to teach religious, virtuous education.

In 1926 the school relocated to Ashtead Park where fee paying pupils were enrolled. City of London Freemen’s School is a co-educational day and boarding school for girls and boys aged 7-18 years. The Grade II listed historic school is one of the oldest co-educational schools.

Freemen’s Main House project provides teaching and social spaces, catering facilities, library and a quiet space for study for Sixth Form students. Working closely with Main Contractor Gilbert Ash, Michael Nugent Ltd provided all Mechanical and Electrical works for the stunning project. We are delighted to return to Freemen’s School after completing Mechanical and Electrical services for the school’s swimming pool in 2017 which is now a RIBA award winning project.

Michael Nugent Ltd have a wealth of experience providing MEP services for the Education sector with this project further enhancing our ever-growing portfolio.

Images copyright of Michael Nugent Ltd


Ashtead, Surrey


August 2021